Bowls Zone One NSW

There are sixteen (16) Zones across the state of New South Wales that promote and administer the sport of Bowls. The Zones are integral parts of the Bowls NSW structure by conducting competitions in their designated areas, as well as promoting representative participation of NSW events.

Each Zone has a representative on the BowlsNSW State Council who is elected by representatives of constituent clubs. A state councillor’s role is to provide input and feedback into the Board and Executive of Bowls NSW and to represent the view of bowlers and clubs.

Bowls Zone One NSW is the fourth largest in terms of number of clubs, comprising 35 clubs.

Zone One Executive

To be updated for 2023

Affiliated Clubs

  • Brooms Head Bowling And Recreation Club Limited
  • Grafton District Services Bowling Club Inc
  • Iluka Bowls Club Limited
  • Maclean And District Bowling Club Co Operative Ltd
  • Red Rock Bowling And Recreation Club Ltd
  • South Grafton Bowling Sports And Recreation Club Limited
  • South Grafton Ex-servicemen’s Club
  • Wooli Bowling And Recreation Club Limited
  • Yamba Bowling And Recreation Club Limited
  • Alstonville Mens Bowling Club
  • Ballina Mens Bowling Club
  • Bonalbo Mens Bowling Club
  • Casino RSM Bowling Club
  • Coraki Memorial Bowling Club
  • East Lismore Bowling Club Limited
  • Evans Head Bowling Club
  • Kyogle Combined Bowling Club
  • Lennox Head Mens Bowls Club
  • Lismore City Bowling Club Limited
  • Lismore Heights Bowling Club
  • Lismore Workers Sports Mens Bowling Club
  • Nimbin Bowling Sporting And Recreation Club Ltd
  • South Lismore Bowling And Recreation Club Limited
  • Bangalow Mens Bowling Club
  • Brunswick Heads Bowling Club
  • Burringbar Mens Bowling Club
  • Byron Bay Bowling Club
  • Cabarita Beach Mens Bowling Club
  • Condong Bowling Club
  • Cudgen Leagues Mens Bowling Club
  • Kingscliff Bowls Club
  • Mullumbimby Ex Services Bowling Club
  • Ocean Shores Country Bowling Club
  • Pottsville Mens Bowling Club
  • South Tweed Sports Club


Each club elects two delegates to represent it at meetings and to vote at AGMs. The zone administrators are elected biannually by Member Club reprsentatives (two per Club) at a zone AGM.

Zone is incorporated body under the Fair Trading legislation in New South Wales operating under a formal constitution. Clubs pay membership fees to BOWLS NSW Inc and a fee to the Zone based on a percentage of the Bowls NSW Inc fee. The primary Zone expense each year relates to cost to send  Open and Seniors Teams to the annual inter-zone championships hosted by a different zone each year.


Zone One has a range of club sizes ranging from our smallest club (South Grafton Mens and Bonalbo with membership less that 20 players, to our largest, Ballina and Kingscliff with almost 200 players. Overall Zone One has over 2000 registered bowlers.

The zone manages inter-area championships to determine individual zone champions in the main individual competitions (singles, pair, triples – open, reserves and seniors) and pennant competitions of 12 man teams from each club in up to seven levels of competence. The zone also selects teams from all players throughout the zone to compete in interzone championships organised by BowlsNSW from which players can be selected to join Country and even State teams.